Are Newspapers Going Extinct?

27 Feb

via Cloud Jumper

Many people would say that newspapers are going extinct. Personally, I like a print newspaper for it’s tactile and ritual appeal. Being slightly older than a Millennial, I have a tendency toward print as a media (in addition to digital, of course).

In my household, we opted to only get the Sunday issue of the Star Tribune (Pioneer Press loyalists, commence your chatter). It seems practical because I try to keep most Sunday’s low-key. I am particularly drawn to the Variety and Travel section, the Variety section being my favorite.

The Variety section hosts the crosswords AND the advice column by Carolyn Hax (who I almost always agree with). I also enjoy the Travel section for it’s beautiful photos and the travel tips by Christopher Elliott. I would feel a sense of loss if I wasn’t able to hold a newspaper and to use a pencil to fill in the crosswords.

Most days, I get my news on Twitter. I like being able to choose several sources, and that it keeps me more up to date than waiting until the nightly news or the next day’s newspaper. In this manner, I like being able to choose from a variety of news media.

Do you think print newspapers are on their way out?

10 Responses to “Are Newspapers Going Extinct?”

  1. dasjohnson February 29, 2012 at 2:50 am #

    I Love your leading picture.

  2. Mailee Singhathip February 29, 2012 at 4:30 am #

    We opt for the Star Tribune too!

  3. Toni Foster March 4, 2012 at 11:33 pm #

    I’ve tried watching twitter for news but it’s just too ‘noisy’ of a medium for me for regular updates. I feel like it’s more of an ‘accidental’ source.

    • Alena Finsky March 5, 2012 at 12:56 am #

      I follow the news sources that I like on Twitter. :) That way, I don’t feel like it’s noisy.

  4. Aimee H March 10, 2012 at 4:17 am #

    I loved the dino pic you have at the beginning of this post. I’m also super impressed by the survey feature you incorporated. Wow you have this blog thing mastered!

  5. Sara Geneva Noreau Kerr March 12, 2012 at 3:10 am #

    For some reason, we receive the PiPress Sunday edition for free even though we subscribe to the daily Strib.

    Last week, I removed all the ads and weighed the papers. The Strib was about twice as heavy.

    • Alena Finsky March 12, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

      That’s a surprise! Maybe they just use a smaller font? (kidding)

  6. ashleyva123 March 16, 2012 at 5:30 pm #

    I get my news from feeds on my FaceBook…but what each of us claims as ‘news’ is very different. I consider news celebrity gossip! Just being honest :-)

    I must say Alena – this blog is awesome and I love the extra goodies (pictures, polls, etc.). It grabbed my attention and kept me reading!

  7. jaebach March 27, 2012 at 1:11 pm #

    Liked that voting insert…cool to see the stats like that :)

  8. gmmontero April 1, 2012 at 3:39 pm #

    Also like the poll! I never read newspapers and when im feeling the need for it — i just watch the news. However I keep telling myself I need to be more in tune with whats going on in the world! Maybe ill have to reconsider US Weekly…

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

