3 Attributes of Great Interactive Media

5 Mar

What Draws Me to a Website

1) A clean, attractive, and user-friendly appearance. I want all of the website’s offerings to be viewable on it’s landing page.

2) It functions well, allowing me to connect easily with a company or other people that I want to connect with.

3) There is an element of FUN and UNIQUENESS to the brand. The website breathes life to it’s brand and users enjoy being part of the brand’s experience.

Case in Point

Recently, I joined Pinterest. Pinterest has been wildly popular lately. But why? The concept of pinning is not new. In fact, most people I know started a cork pinboard, or collaging in elementary school. I believe people love Pinterest because it provides it’s users a more streamlined way to view their inspiration boards and makes them into a living thing. Instead of having a single physical cork board, the Pinterest user is able to easily create many online inspiration boards with virtually any theme.

Currently, I have boards on: style, several food and drink boards, cute animals, hair styles, home decor, jewelry, and vacation, to name a few. The website is VERY easy to use. Once you’ve set up an account and sign in, you are able to view, share and like the pins your friends have set up. This makes creating your boards easier, because if you don’t have time to look around online, you might be able to locate new pins on Pinterest’s website through your connections. Since you sign into Pinterest through Facebook or Twitter, you can find existing friends easily (just click on your user name on the right side of the screen and click on “Find Friends.” Additionally, you can install a “Pin It” button to your bookmarks toolbar, which allows you to pin items from any website (except Flickr, which has disabled pinning copyrighted images). Pinterest meets my standards for an amazing interactive website.

Have you tried Pinterest? What other websites provide a great interface, allow you to connect with others, and provide it’s users with a fun and unique experience?

9 Responses to “3 Attributes of Great Interactive Media”

  1. Toni Foster March 5, 2012 at 6:34 am #

    Professionally, I use LinkedIn to connect with others, but I’m not exactly sure I’d describe it as ‘fun’ or ‘unique’ like Pinterest. I’ve started to check out MeetUp as a place to connect with others with similar interests – it’s definitely fun and unique. Check it out – but be safe!

    http://www.meetup.com/cities/us/mn/minneapolis/

    • Alena Finsky March 11, 2012 at 6:28 pm #

      Thanks for pointing me to MeetUp! It might be a good way for me to connect with other runners!

  2. pinot and zin March 8, 2012 at 10:41 pm #

    I’m in love with Pinterest! Constantly finding new inspirations in so many areas of life! I recently blogged about Pinterest as well.

    • Alena Finsky March 11, 2012 at 6:30 pm #

      It would be fun if our class could connect on Pinterest. I like seeing what inspires people visually!

      • pinot and zin March 16, 2012 at 11:58 pm #

        you can look me up if you’d like to. you should be able to find me as ladydy. otherwise, i think i might have linked directly to my boards in a post somewhere!

  3. Mailee March 10, 2012 at 10:10 pm #

    I agree with you. Those are similar attributes I look for in a website as well. And yes, I love Pinterest. I’m trying very hard not go on as often because whenever I’m there…time flies and before I know it, it’s like midnight! Yikes!! :)

    • Alena Finsky March 11, 2012 at 6:36 pm #

      Yes, you’re right. The internet in general is great for losing several hours without even realizing it. Very dangerous when you’re a student! :/

  4. jaebach March 27, 2012 at 1:10 pm #

    LOVE Pinterest… Just love it. It can give me the down-time I need, or inspiration I seek…

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Social Media: Like or Unlike « Alena Finsky - March 11, 2012

    [...] Those who read my last blog post know I am a fan of Pinterest. I have always enjoyed the visual, and organizing by genre has long [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

