Social Media: Like or Unlike

11 Mar

When people mention social media, do you light up with EXCITEMENT, or do you cringe? While it now seems necessary to have at least a basic understanding of social media, it can also be a challenge to decide what to use and how to use it.

My social media roots are in AOL chat rooms during my teen year. I graduated to Myspace in my early 20s. My current favorites are: Facebook, Twitter, Pinterest, LinkedIn, Instagram, and Foursquare. What draws me to social media is that it is always evolving.

How I Use Social Media

Facebook: I use Facebook to communicate with people I know in real life (friends, family, and colleagues) and with local businesses.

Twitter: I am relatively new to Twitter, but I like it for to-the-minute news, finding out what my friends and businesses that I follow are up to, and to keep current on communications and marketing issues.

Pinterest: Those who read my last blog post know I am a fan of Pinterest. I have always enjoyed the visual, and organizing by genre has long been one of my favorite things (my mother likes to tell people I was doing this by the time I was three).

LinkedIn: I like that LinkedIn is specifically for professional networking. While I don’t interact with other users a lot, I find LinkedIn useful for introductions, groups, and the ability to learn more about companies.

Instagram: For those who aren’t familiar, Instagram is an app that allows you to take and add filters to your photos. I’m convinced that even the worst photo can be made beautiful with Instagram. I enjoy the ability to follow my friends on Instagram and see what they are eating, travel photos, and cute pictures of their kids. I am drawn to their like button (which has a heart on it) and being able to comment on photos in my feed.

Foursquare: Are you a MAYOR? I am the mayor of three places on Foursquare: my chiropractic office (car accident), the Sawmill Saloon in Seeley, WI, and my house. Though I don’t use Foursquare to interact with my friends frequently, I do like checking into businesses for the sport of collecting badges and mayorships!

Do you like social media? What social media do you use most often?

Photo credit via Contagious Agency

17 Responses to “Social Media: Like or Unlike”

  1. latoshamccann March 11, 2012 at 3:33 am #

    Hi Alena. I just wanted you to know that I think this blog looks great. It really grabbed my attention. Also, I am now going to try out Instagram! :)

  2. plengelmann March 11, 2012 at 4:48 am #

    I agree – you did a nice job on this blog. I had not heard of Instagram but I might want to check it out now. Thanks Alena!

    • Alena Finsky March 11, 2012 at 6:26 pm #

      Thanks for the compliment! You’ll have to tell me what you think of Instagram.

  3. Toni Foster March 11, 2012 at 6:42 am #

    I use a few social media sites, but my primary is Linkedin. My most recent is Waze. A free gps app that uses crowdsourcing to share current traffic conditions and connects with Foursquare, Twitter, and Facebook.

    • Alena Finsky March 11, 2012 at 6:27 pm #

      I’ve never heard of Waze. I’m on my way to check it out right now. :)

  4. Sara Geneva Noreau Kerr March 12, 2012 at 3:05 am #

    I’m not sure I like Facebook, but I use it. Trust it? Not at all.

    I believe that each medium has its purpose. A business or an individual has to know their goals and choose the media that will most effectively get them their quicker.

    Remember that “entertainment” and “fun” are legitimate goals, too.

    • Alena Finsky March 12, 2012 at 12:26 pm #

      Good points Sara.

      I don’t trust Facebook, either.

      • bjkorte March 12, 2012 at 2:00 pm #

        I have trust issues too :) I check FB regularly because I’m addicted and because I don’t want bad photos of myself to be posted. Maybe I have vanity issues too.

  5. Aimee H March 16, 2012 at 12:39 am #

    I loved how you layed out this post. It was easy to read about each of the types of social media.

  6. ashleyva123 March 16, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    I LOVE Instagram! It is my most favorite thing in the world…I just signed up the other day and anything I can take a picture of I do. I love how you can edit the photo before you post it…I wish I had that capability just on my iPhone. So, if you know how, please fill me in!

    Great job by the way! I am enjoying all of your posts!

  7. mndymrshll March 18, 2012 at 12:38 am #

    I still wish they offered a “dislike” option on Facebook. I guess it gives us a reason to move on to the next social media outlet!

    • Alena Finsky April 4, 2012 at 3:10 pm #

      I’ve always wanted a “dislike” option, too.

  8. jaebach March 27, 2012 at 1:07 pm #

    Haven’t heard of Instagram… I’ll have to look into that. Course, I’ve banned any/every person I know from posting pics of me (even if it’s the back of my head)….

  9. gmmontero March 30, 2012 at 3:20 pm #

    I agree about this blog! very fun! I use Facebook but its not my favorite. I love Pinterest, I just started getting into that a little bit ago and am amazed at all of the unique things I find. I heard many good things about Instagram so that may be my next choice to try out!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 29 other followers

